Award Description
Newbery Award Medal

Newbery Award

The Newbery Award is given once every year to "the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children."
The Caldecott Award Medal

Caldecott Award

The Caldecott Award is given every year to "the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children."
The Texas Bluebonnet Award logo

Texas Bluebonnet Award

The Texas Bluebonnet Award committee from the Texas Library Association nominates 20 books each year for this award. Third through sixth grade students choose their favorite, and the author of the book with the most votes wins this award.
Texas Library Association logo

2x2 Award

The Children's Round Table from the Texas Library Association releases a list of twenty new titles of outstanding books for children from two years old through second grade (2x2) every year.
The Coretta Scott King Award Medal

Coretta Scott King Award

"The Coretta Scott King Book Awards are given annually to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values."
The Pura Belpré Award Medal

Pura Belpré Award

The Pura Belpré Award "is presented annually to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth."
ALA Youth Media Award logo

Other Awards

The American Library Association honors books and other materials for children and teens every year through its Youth Media Awards.