Breadcrumb Navigation

Kiwanis Club of Arlington

Arlington ISD Teachers Recognized by Superintendent, EECU and Kiwanis Club

Kiwanis Club, EECU Surprise

Twelve Arlington ISD teachers recently attended a Zoom committee meeting to discuss At-Home Learning – or at least that’s why they thought.

Quickly after Arlington ISD Superintendent Dr. Marcelo Cavazos greeted the group, he acknowledged that wasn’t exactly the case.

“At-Home Learning is something we want to get your input on; however, we’ll probably have to save that discussion for another day,” Cavazos said. “I’m not here to get your input on At-Home Learning. We’re here actually to recognize you as teachers. And recognize your outstanding work in our school district.”


Joining Cavazos and a dozen teachers were a few Arlington ISD school board members, principals and assistant principals from their campuses as well as Kay Lancaster from the Kiwanis Club of Arlington and Barb Walker from EECU Credit Union.

Since the annual Kiwanis Club Teacher of the Year luncheon was canceled due to COVID-19, these top teachers were in for a Zoom surprise. Since 1962, the Kiwanis Club has recognized the Kiwanis Woodrow Counts Teachers of the Year, and this year was no different.

Top Teachers Honored

During the Zoom, Lamar High School’s Raylene Scott was named Kiwanis Woodrow Counts High School Teacher of the Year, Bailey Junior High’s Shana Healer was named Kiwanis Woodrow Counts Junior High Teacher of the year, and Bryant Elementary’s Stephen Hayes was named Kiwanis Woodrow Counts Elementary Teacher of the Year.

As the top teachers of the year, Scott, Healer and Hayes will all be given $100 and a plaque from the Kiwanis Club and $500 from EECU.

Special Recognition Teachers of the Year included: Watson Robinson, Jr. from Bowie High School, Jaron Ward from Seguin High School, Sara Grenier from Boles Junior High, Wes Ball from Shackelford Junior High, Leigh Poage from Knox Elementary, Lynne Waller from Moore Elementary, Sonia Marchelli from Morton Elementary and Kristin Lewis from Wood Elementary.

The Special Recognition Teachers of the Year each will receive $200 from the Kiwanis Club and $100 from EECU.

Community Love 

“We have a great community in Arlington, and it’s because of people like you and the organizations you represent,” Cavazos said. “You come together and show love for our teachers through good times and difficult times – you’ve always been there. It’s one thing for the district to recognize teachers, and it’s another for our community to recognize teachers. That says a lot. The love you demonstrate is certainly felt and appreciated on behalf of the district.”