Department Navigation

Links

Department Contacts

Curriculum and Instruction

Feedback

Contacts

Department Contact:

Andrea Hicks

Coordinator
(682) 867-7482
ahicks2@aisd.net

Department Contact:

Rhonda Ceaser

Secretary
(682) 867-7482
rceaser@aisd.net

GUIDING PRINCIPLES

Scholars engage in high-quality literacy instruction while incorporating metacognitive strategies and critical thinking to develop and deepen comprehension, using a variety of increasingly complex and diverse text.  The literacy learning experiences includes listening, speaking, reading, writing, and thinking.

INSTRUCTIONAL FRAMEWORK

AISD believes that a balanced approach to literacy development is essential to building the foundational blocks of knowledge for strategic reading, writing, and analytical thinking. We believe that purposeful integration of interactive and engaging reading and writing skills in all disciplines provide opportunities for students to enjoy reading, engage in complex text, explore new learning, deepen thinking, ask, and answer questions, and more importantly, develop lifelong learning.

ACTIVE STUDENT LEARNING

Scholars should participate in authentic literacy activities where they work collaboratively to listen and respond through conversations about their reading and writing. Purposeful and intentional integration of interactive and engaging reading and writing tasks allow students to have a deeper understanding of vocabulary, fluency and comprehension strategies as well as the writing process, spelling, grammar, and punctuation to communicate their ideas effectively.

Department Contact:

Chasidie Brown

Specialist - Elementary
cbrown9@aisd.net

Department Contact:

Connie Dorosky

Specialist - Elementary
cdorosky@aisd.net

Department Contact:

Tiahesha Hill

Specialist - Elementary
thill4@aisd.net

Department Contact:

Melody Overland

Melody
Overland

ESSER Specialist -
Elementary
moverlan@aisd.net

Department Contact:

Sandra Redding

Specialist - Elementary
sredding@aisd.net

Department Contact:

Chris
Drury

Specialist -
Secondary

jdrury@aisd.net

Department Contact:

Jordan Ferguson

Specialist - Secondary
jfergus3@aisd.net

Department Contact:

Tricia
Stahl

Specialist -
Secondary

tstahl@aisd.net

Department Contact:

Shavonia
Finley

Specialist -
ESSER

sfinley@aisd.net

Department Contact:

Matthew
Vivian

Specialist -
ESSER Secondary

mvivian@aisd.net

NEWS & EVENTS

Email ci@aisd.net for questions regarding curriculum, instructional practices, or professional learning.